Skip to content

An Appetizer in Biblical Counseling

June 1, 2015

As most of you already know, I have been taking biblical counseling classes through an organization known as CCEF, the Christian Counseling and Educational Foundation. CCEF’s mission is to restore Christ to counseling and counseling to the church. They are seeking to educate, equip, and train both church leaders and lay people to be biblical counselors so that as the community of Christ we might all help one another grow and transform through the gospel. I have been immensely blessed by CCEF and the opportunity to learn from them.

As I wrap up my classes (I finish this fall!) my attention is turning more and more toward Redeemer. I want us to be a church full of biblical counselors! And I know many of you want to learn how to counsel one another with greater wisdom and love. So how do I share what I have been learning about biblical counseling? As CCEF has trained and equipped me, how can I turn around and do the same for the members of Redeemer?

That is where this blog post comes in.

This is the introduction to a 10-part blog series that I am going to be doing on biblical counseling. I want to expose you to some of what I have been learning. More thorough and developed teaching and training will follow in later months, but this is where the road begins. It will be the appetizer before the meal, and my hope is that it will make you hungrier for what is to come later on.

My goal is twofold: (1) to help you see that you can and most likely already are doing biblical counseling and (2) to help you refine and enhance your skills so that you can do it better. We are going to consider what biblical counseling actually is, who is responsible for doing it in the church, and what qualities make someone a good counselor. It is not just for professionals with degrees like we are tempted to believe. We are also going to get practical. What should counseling look like biblically? What am I trying to accomplish with the person? Is it just about asking questions and giving advice? What questions do I even ask? How do I distinguish between the physiological and spiritual factors that might be at play in someone’s struggle? We will consider all of these things.

Hopefully that has you excited! Watch for part 1 in the coming days.

Part 1: Why Biblical Counseling?
Part 2: Biblical Counseling = Discipleship
Part 3: Getting to the Heart

One Comment leave one →

Trackbacks

  1. Why Biblical Counseling? |

Leave a Reply

